BR British Rail Crimson & Cream Crimson and Cream Crimson Cream Blood & Custard Blood Custard Blood and Custard BR British Rail Crimson & Cream Crimson and Cream Crimson Cream Blood & Custard Blood Custard Blood and Custard BR British Rail Crimson & Cream Crimson and Cream Crimson Cream Blood & Custard Blood Custard Blood and Custard

 

© BloodandCustard

British Rail Southern Railway
VECTIS
(Isle of Wight ‘Standard’ Stock)

 

Clearly a warm day as the cab door is wide open, 5-car unit no. 485043 is seen approaching Ryde St Johns Road on a Ryde Pier Head to Shanklin train in 1983.

© Chris Wilson collection

 

Replacement Trains for the Isle of Wight

During the early nineteen-sixties the Southern Region of British Railways faced the problem of the future operation of train services on the Isle of Wight. The network on the island had been reduced during the nineteen-fifties (from its maximum extent of 55½ miles) by the closure of the Merstone to Ventnor West line in 1952, followed by the Newport to Freshwater and Brading to Bembridge lines in 1953 and from Newport to Sandown in 1956. This left a 25½ mile system of two lines radiating from Ryde, one to Cowes via Newport, the other to Ventnor via Sandown and Shanklin.

These lines were worked by former LSWR Class ‘02’ 0-4-4T locomotives built in 1889 /1890 for London suburban traffic having been transferred to the island in early Southern Railway days to haul trains formed from pre-grouping carriages of SECR & LBSCR origin. Due to the popularity of the island for holidaymakers, the passenger traffic was heavily peaked with quite intensive summer operations and a much lower level of traffic during the winter months. Freight traffic was also handled on both lines.

Due to the age of the rolling stock, the Southern began investigations into possible replacement trains for the island, but the loading gauge restrictions imposed on all island rolling stock by the sharp curvature in the tunnel between Ryde St Johns Road and Ryde Esplanade (including through the latter station) coupled to a general lack of height clearances at structures throughout the island system meant that provision of any designs of mainland rolling stock was not possible without expensive alterations either to the trains or the structures themselves. The overall height of island rolling stock was some 10" less than the main line dimension.

 

To enable electrification, the track level had to be raised in Ryde Tunnel because of regular flooding, necessitating the use of former LT tube stock (photographed in 2008).

© C. Watts

 

Ex. LT ‘Tube’ Stock

As a consequence, the Southern approached London Transport in October 1961 enquiring about the possibilities of using redundant tube-style rolling stock on the island, tentative plans at this stage envisaging using block trains of tube trailer cars push-pulled by a new motor luggage van. As the whole surviving network was included, the requirement was for 65 cars and the design work done for the motor luggage vans was later adapted as a basis for the Class 73 electro‑diesel locomotives.

Re-shaping of Britain’s Railways (1963)

The publication of Dr Beeching’s Report ‘The Re-shaping of Britain’s Railways’ in March 1963 recommended closure of the whole of the Isle of Wight system (except from Ryde Pier Head to Ryde St Johns Road) meant that these plans were shelved to await the outcome of the various hearings into the closure of the railway system. Towards the end of 1963 contact between Southern Region and London Transport was resumed on the expectation of the Beeching plan being implemented in full.

 

 

1925 Metropolitan Carriage, Wagon & Finance Co. car 5304 (at Drayton Park car sheds) was withdrawn by LT in October 1964. Selected for service on the Isle of Wight it was stored at Micheldever from 25th July 1965 before returning to Acton Works for overhaul by LT prior to being released to the Southern Region on 1st December 1966. Repainted blue at Stewarts Lane, numbered S28S for use 3 TIS unit no.032.

© Brian Hardy

 

LT’s ‘Standard’ Stock Replacement

London Transport were at this time in the process of replacing its large fleet of so-called ‘Standard’ stock which had been constructed by several different manufacturers between 1923 and 1934 and had operated on the Northern, Piccadilly & Central lines, and to a lesser extent on the Bakerloo line before 1949 though some trailers continued on this line within 1938 stock units until 1973. This stock was now being displaced by new trains from two large batches of virtually identical 1959 & 1962 stock which were taking over operation of the Piccadilly & Central lines.

London Transport’s Terms of Supply

London Transport confirmed to the Southern that it was willing to sell redundant cars and quoted a price of £280 for DM (driving motor) cars (but without traction motors) and £120 for trailer cars. They were also willing to store the cars on their system but would raise a charge for this facility. At this stage (December 1963) it was planned to convert the cars to diesel operation, either to a DEMU format using a diesel generator fitted into the equipment compartments of the DM cars or possibly diesel-mechanical operation with similar diesel engines to those used in Southern Vectis buses, to whom a maintenance contract for the engines would be let. London Transport were prepared to supply traction motors at £75 each if the DEMU option was exercised.

 

Work-worn Piccadilly-line 1931 /1934 DM ‘D’-car at Acton Town. Note the LT-style of whistle, red electric tail lamp along with a BR oil-tail lamp.

© Brian Hardy

 

Southern Region’s Acceptance & Purchase

The Southern accepted these proposals and by May 1964, six cars were identified for sale, two DM cars, 3253 & 3706 and four trailers, 7166, 7167 7173 & 7189, all being of 1931 /1934 construction and withdrawn from the Piccadilly line during the early months of 1964. By May 1964, the Southern requested a total of 12 cars and a further six were earmarked, these being DM cars 3074, 3141, 3702 & 3703 and trailers 7159 & 7181, again 1931 /1934 stock from the Piccadilly line. This stock would have been sufficient to provide the service from Ryde Pier Head to St Johns Road if all other lines on the island had closed as planned.

Transfer of Earmarked Stock

These earmarked cars were moved from storage at Ruislip to the SR depot at Wimbledon Park 14th August 1964 and taken from Wimbledon to Micheldever for storage 16th August 1964 hauled by D6540 and marshalled between two match wagons previously used to move tube stock from London to scrapping locations. These wagons had an air pipe fitted so that the Westinghouse brakes on the tube cars were operable during transit.

The door sill plates of the cars were removed by LT prior to despatch to keep the cars within the loading gauge, particularly when passing platforms (not all of which had an overhang; some just a plain vertical face, others a batter). Tripcocks were also latched-up and the negative shoes raised and secured at their maximum height. Twelve spare traction motors were also supplied with this stock.

Ultimately not all of these earmarked cars stored at Micheldever (on behalf of LT prior to any purchase) were procured by the Southern Region.

 

LT’s DM ‘D’-car 3033 at Micheldever; this car was not selected to go to the Island.

Note the visible labelling above the jumper covers (left to right – Auxiliary, Brake & Control to the right of the gangway). In the background both BR and LT stock is visible as is a round BR height buffer just creeping into shot.

Last of a batch of twenty originally built to replace air-door Piccadilly line gate stock.

© Brian Hardy

 

Isle of Wight Rolling Stock Requirements

The public enquiry into the closure of the Isle of Wight railway system was held during June 1964 and though still awaiting the final outcome, by October 1964 the Southern were assuming that Ryde to Shanklin would remain open. Working to this assumption, plans had to be revised as the requirement for stock had now risen to five 7-car and one 4-car unit, this 4-car being a spare train. This raised the vehicle requirements to thirty-nine and needed a further eleven DM cars and sixteen trailers in addition to those already at Micheldever. This plan was based on conversion to DMU /DEMU operation.

If the loco-hauled plan was adopted the requirements changed to twenty-three trailers and twenty-three control trailers (CT cars). Some of the DM cars would be converted to control trailers with their equipment compartments converted to luggage space.

A further scenario explored was that the whole island system would remain in operation, this raising the vehicle requirements by twenty-seven DM cars and thirty-four trailers in addition to the twelve vehicles already purchased. As a result of this, London Transport agreed to hold all cars withdrawn from the Northern City line in October 1964 when early build ‘Standard’ stock was replaced there by newer examples of this stock displaced from the Piccadilly line.

By January 1965 there were sixty-one cars stored at Ruislip consisting of twenty-two DM cars, eighteen trailers and twenty-one CT cars and London Transport were charging the Southern for storing these cars, regular inspection and washing approximately every two weeks. Plans were made to start moving these cars from Ruislip (via Wimbledon Park depot) to Micheldever for further storage and thirty-two cars were moved as four 8-car trains as follows:-

The first date was movement from Ruislip to Wimbledon, the second onwards to Micheldever.

 

1st Move

2nd Move

Cars

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

14-May-65

16-May-65

3033

3047

3308

3311

5279

5302

7283

7292

1-Jun-65

3-Jun-65

3028

3292

3301

5283

5290

7282

7285

7287

12-Jul-65

14-Jul-65

3035

3044

5248

5291

5296

5350

7280

7286

23-Jul-65

25-Jul-65

3037

3303

3314

5293

5304

5312

7275

7293

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This left the following cars on-hand at Ruislip

 

 

3040

3041

3045

3062

3064

3288

3313

3315

 

 

5273

5277

5281

5285

5287

5289

5294

5412

 

 

7277

7279

7281

7290

7295

7296

7298

-

 

The Southern had completed purchase of all sixty-one of the above cars during early 1965 at a cost of £14,860 at scrap prices (this price included the initial twelve cars already on hand). Those moved to Micheldever again had their door sill plates removed and also all shoegear prior to departure from Ruislip.

 

 

Ryde St Johns Road and the electrified Isle of Wight railway; although 4-car stopping marks were common elsewhere, the 7-car stopping marks were unique.

In view, unit no.485043 is seen arriving with the 10.31 Shanklin to Ryde Pier Head whilst no.485045 awaits departure for Shanklin. In the depot yard is another Standard set along with the cab of a ‘new’ 1938 class 483 unit (3rd November 1989).

© Chris Wilson

 

Isle of Wight Electric Railway

The Minister of Transport announced the results of the public enquiry into closure of the Isle of Wight lines in the summer of 1965 and confirmed that only the line from Ryde to Shanklin (8½ miles) would remain open but emphasised that the route should be modernised. Whilst the Southern favoured diesel operation, the local authorities pressed for electrification. Once again plans were revised and the Southern decided to opt for electrification using forty-six of the tube cars already purchased. Overall costs for dieselisation /electrification were about the same, but due to the age of the tube stock the question of future replacement would arise again fairly shortly and if the line was electrified, further newer tube stock from London Transport would be a future option.

This plan was approved by the British Rail Board (BRB) in November 1965 at a total cost of £½m though much of this was to be spent on the electrification works, altering the layout at Ryde Pier Head from four tracks and platforms to two tracks and three platform faces also platform adjustments at the other stations to suit the smaller tube stock. Provision of a maintenance depot at Ryde St Johns was also allowed for.

Electrical Configuration

As electric traction was now planned, the condition of the cabling on the purchased cars became more critical and it became obvious that many of the cars would need re-cabling with other modifications to the control equipment to suit third rail operation. The electrical configuration of the ‘Standard’ tube stock was such that on car ends connections were not duplicated each side of the coupler resulting in cars having to be coupled a certain way round.

On London Transport cars were therefore designated as ‘A’ or ‘D’ end cars and could only couple with an ‘A’ to a ‘D’, cars of the same type being incompatible. ‘A’ cars had even numbers, ‘D’ cars were odd numbered. All DM cars and CT cars were thus classified, though trailers were not as they were not involved in coupling operations always being formed intermediately within a unit. However, they still needed to be marshalled the correct way round within a unit.

On the Isle of Wight this system had to continue and ‘A’ cars had their cabs facing Ryde, ‘D’ cars facing Shanklin. For the forty-six car plan to operate, the Southern announced the planned new service in December 1965 and anticipated commencement from Easter 1967. This service required two 4-car trains operating in winter months, rising to four 7-car trains Monday to Fridays in summer with six 7-car trains required for summer Saturday operation. Including one spare 4-car train this required the formation of seven 4-car units formed DM-T-T-DM and six 3-car units formed CT-T-DM.

 

 

Against a colourful backdrop of rubber-tyred motor coaches, 3 TIS unit no.034 leads a Ryde Pier Head to Shanklin service across the crossover into Ryde Tunnel having just departed from Ryde Esplanade (1979).

© Chris Wilson collection

 

VECTIS

The 4-car trains were classified as 4 VEC and the 3-car trains as 3 TIS, each 7-car train being a 7 VECTIS, the Roman name for the Isle of Wight. Seven car trains normally had the 3 TIS unit marshalled at the Shanklin end of the train. To form these trains as planned required the following vehicles (forty-six cars):

 

Qty

End

Type

Notes

7

‘A’

DM

 

13

‘D’

DM

 

10

‘A’

CT

(4 to be used as trailers)

16

Trailers

 

 

Nil

‘D’

CT

 

The forty-four cars already on the Southern at Micheldever comprised:

8

‘A’

DM

 

10

‘D’

DM

 

7

‘A’

CT

 

15

Trailers

 

 

4

‘D’

CT

 

   

Although this was not exactly what was now required, three of the ‘A’ CT cars were intended to be used as trailers so by using three of the CT ‘D’-cars in their place and using the remaining surplus CT ‘D’ to replace the remaining one trailer short the overall situation was that the Southern was short of three DM ‘D’-cars and had one DM ‘A’-too many.

As the cars were now to be used as electric traction this was not that serious as the Southern had arranged to have the cars overhauled by London Transport at its Acton Works where there was much past experience with this type of stock and all the cars at Micheldever would have to return there for this work. Any shortfalls could be made-up from the remaining pool of twenty-nine cars still at Ruislip.

LT Overhauls

London Transport estimated the cost of overhauling these forty-six cars to the requirements of the Southern at £90,000 on the basis of twenty motor coaches at £2,850 and twenty-six trailers at £1,250 each. The possibility of one man operation was explored but the cost of putting the door controls into the DM cabs was quoted at £1,000 per cab and with their small side doors the cabs were not really suitable anyway. Further surveys of car condition then took place so that the twenty-seven worst ones could be disposed of for scrap leaving forty-six to be overhauled at Acton for Isle of Wight use. Ten cars at Micheldever were rejected at this point (March 1966) and twelve cars from Ruislip selected as replacements. This exercise also balanced up the right number of DM cars required.

Cars involved were:

 

Type

Cars rejected at Micheldever

Cars selected at Ruislip

‘A’ DM

3028  3044 (1928 UCC)

3010 (1929 UCC)

‘D’ DM

3033 (1928 UCC)

3041  3045 (1928 UCC)
3313  3315 (1927 MCW)

CT

5248 (1924 CL)

5294 (1925 MCW)

Trailers

7159 7166 7167 7173 7181 7189
(1931 GCW)

7279 7281 7290 7295 7296 7298
(1923 CL)

 

Key

 

 

CL

Cammell, Laird & Co.
(Merged in 1928 with Metropolitan Cammell Carriage, Wagon & Finance Company Ltd).

GCW

Gloucester Railway Carriage & Wagon Co.
(Acquired by Winglet Ltd 29th December 1961).

MCW

Metropolitan Carriage, Wagon & Finance Co.
(Merged in 1928 with Cammell, Laird and Co. under the name Metropolitan Cammell Carriage, Wagon & Finance Company Ltd. This amalgamated entity was owned by Vickers and Cammell, Laird & Co and became known as Metro Cammell in 1929).

UCC

Union Construction Co.
(Became
The Union Construction & Finance Co. Ltd in 1929)

               

The selection of six 1923 Cammell, Laird & Co. trailers to replace newer 1931 Gloucester Railway Carriage & Wagon Co. cars was influenced by several factors; the 1923 cars having four less doors per car to maintain, seating 8 extra passengers and having spent much of their lives on the Northern City line which was entirely underground and generally less arduous than other lines, were in very good condition.

 

 

DM ‘A’-car at Wimbledon (either 3313 on 13th May 1966 or 3315 on 8th July 1966) en-route from Acton to Stewarts Lane (via East Putney). With the LT pilot locomotives detached this unit is awaiting departure on its first powered run over BR metals.

© Brian Hardy

 

Deliveries to the Southern

The forty-six cars selected for use on the island started to be moved to Acton Works for overhaul and refurbishment from March 1966, those from Ruislip being the first to move. This work including removal of LT tripcocks and centre shoegear as the Southern Region was not employ a fourth (negative) conductor rail on the island).

Movements from Micheldever commenced in May 1966 but not all had moved when there were further changes of plan. London Transport advised the Southern that the remaining ‘Standard’ stock working on the Northern City line was to be replaced by ‘1938’ Tube Stock, displacing cars of 1931 /1934 build, many of which had already been re-cabled with more modern materials. As the cost of overhauling the existing cars at Acton was proving more expensive than originally budgeted for, the Southern was looking to reduce costs and the decision was made to abolish the spare 4-car train, just keeping one spare DM instead.

This reduced the number of cars requiring overhaul to forty-three saving £9,000 and with the expectation of better condition cars from the Northern City line being available later in 1966 a further review of the cars on hand in September 1966 led to a further ten being rejected, seven being replaced by newer cars from the Northern City line. This reduced the number of 1928 Union Construction Co.  cars to be overhauled, but those on which work had already started were retained. The cars involved in this change were:

 

Type

Cars rejected at Micheldever

Replacement cars from LT

‘A’ DM

3292 (1928 UCC)
3314 (1927 MCW)

3084 (1931 MCW)
3696 (1934 MCW)

‘D’ DM

3035 3037 3047 3301 3303 3311 (1928 UCC)   

3185 3209 3223 3251
(1931 MCW)

3705 (1934 MCW)

‘A’  CT

5296 (1925 MCW)

 


Type


Car rejected at Ruislip

 

Trailer

7295 (1925 CL)

 


Key

 

 

CL

Cammell, Laird & Co.
(Merged in 1928 with Metropolitan Cammell Carriage, Wagon & Finance Company Ltd).

MCW

Metropolitan Carriage, Wagon & Finance Co.
(Merged in 1928 with Cammell, Laird and Co. under the name Metropolitan Cammell Carriage, Wagon & Finance Company Ltd. This amalgamated entity was owned by Vickers and Cammell, Laird & Co and became known as Metro Cammell in 1929).

UCC

Union Construction Co.
(Became The Union Construction & Finance Co. Ltd in 1929)

 

Final Forty-Three Cars

This gave the final total of forty-three cars which were overhauled at Acton. Work there included overhauling the braking gear and electrical equipment was also overhauled and modified to be suitable for third rail operation. This involved providing an earth return and required all the negative fuses to be shorted out, removal of the negative shoebeam and the bolting of the negative shoelead to the motor casing using the boltholes of the negative shoebeam.

Some cars also had the paint stripped off back to bare metal in places to check the condition of the body panels, though the cars were not repainted at Acton. Some seats were retrimmed where in poor condition and any with the LT bullseye symbol in the moquette were changed to another LT style.

Following release from overhaul at Acton works, the stock was delivered to Stewarts Lane as follows. Eventual new coach number and unit car allocated (italics) to are shown below the LT number.

 

Date ex.Acton

Cars

 

 

 

 

13-May-66

3010
S12S
(Unit no.0431)

7283
S46S
(Unit no.046)

7296
S49S
(Unit no.046)

3313
S25S
(Unit no.046)

10-Jun-66

3045
S19S
(Unit no.0372)

7279
S47S
(Unit no.0373)

5294
S38S
(Unit no.0374)

 

8-Jul-66

3315
S23S
(Unit no.0445)

7281
S44S
(Unit no.044)

7290
S96S
(Unit no.036)

3702
S4S
(Unit no.044)

18-Aug-66

3041
S17S
(Unit no.0366)

5291
S33S
(Unit no.044)

5350
S36S
(Unit no.036)

 

8-Sep-66

3308
S20S
(Unit no.041)

7286
S41S
(Unit no.041)

3141
S13S
(Unit no.041)

 

29-Sep-66

3074
S8S
(Unit no.046)

5293
S29S
(Unit no.042)

7280
S42SS
(Unit no.042)

3703
S1S
(Unit no.031)

20-Oct-66

3253
S15S
(Unit no.042)

7275
S43S
(Unit no.043)

5283
S31S
(Unit no.043)

3706
S2S
(Unit no.043)

17-Nov-66

3084
S6S
(Unit no.045)

7298
S48S
(Unit no.045)

7293
S45S
(Unit no.045)

3705
S11S 
(Unit no.036)

1-Dec-66

5304
S28S
(Unit no.032)

7285
S92S
(Unit no.032)

7282
S93S
(Unit no.033)

 

5-Jan-67

3251
S3S
(Unit no.032)

5290
S32S
(Unit no.034)

7287
S94S
(Unit no.034)

5312
S30S
(Unit no.033)

26-Jan-67

3185
S5S
(Unit no.033)

5302
S34S
(Unit no.035)

3696
S10S
(Spare)

 

16-Feb-67

3209
S7S
(Unit no.034)

7292
S95S
(Unit no.035)

3223
S9S
(Unit no.035)

 

 

Footnotes (Date ex. Acton)

1

S12S was renumbered S22S and formed into unit no.042 prior to entering service.

2

S19S was formed into unit no.043 prior to entering service.

3

S47S was formed into unit no.031 prior to entering service.

4

S38S was renumbered S26S and formed into unit no.031 prior to entering service.

5

S23S was formed into unit no.045 prior to entering service.

6

S17S was renumbered S21S and formed into unit no.044 prior to entering service.

 

The 3-car trains were unable to run under their own power, indeed the train of 1st December 1966 was formed entirely of trailers, and were assisted from Wimbledon by an already-delivered unit run from Stewarts Lane for this purpose.

 

 

1928 Union Construction Co. DM ‘A’-car 3308 on 10th September 1966 following arrival at Stewarts Lane for repainting, renumbering, additional luggage racks and fitment of BR three-chime whistle. This car became S20S in 4 VEC unit no.041.

Note the open control jumper cover (below the tail lamp) with its horizontal receptacle (compared to usual SR practice of a downward-cranked socket).

© Brian Hardy

 

Stewarts Lane Repainting

On release from Acton Works, trains of 4 and 3-cars were worked to Wimbledon by LT pilot motors each end, at Wimbledon the pilots were shunted off, fuses replaced in the tube cars and they then worked under their own power to Stewarts Lane via East Putney.

HO 5555 had been issued 6th April 1966 for the repainting and fitting of luggage racks to forty-six LT cars (note, this was issued before the change of plan and reduction to forty-three cars needed). Stewarts Lane then repainted the cars into the new ‘rail blue’ livery with full yellow cab ends and chocolate brown underframes.

Renumbering

All the cars were renumbered on arrival into a new series starting at S1S with driving motor seconds being S1S ‑ 11 /13 /15 /19-23 /25, driving trailer seconds becoming S26S /28 /30 /32 /34 /36, driving trailer seconds used as trailers becoming S27S /29 /31 /33 and trailers becoming S41S - 49 /92-96. This complex sequence was to keep the ‘A’ end cars with even numbers, ‘D’ end cars with odd numbers and a different trailer sequence for the 4 VEC & 3 TIS units. However, these could not duplicate the existing Waterloo & City cars in a similar series from S51S - 86, hence the jump in trailer numbers into the nineties.

These coach numbers also had an ‘S’ suffix as in pre-nationalisation designs. However, this suffix was dropped with repainting into blue /grey livery and the prefix stopped being applied with NSE livery.

As 3-car units delivered to Wimbledon from Acton could not run solo to Stewarts Lane (they only had shoegear at one end) a 4-car set was sent from Stewarts Lane to collect them, returning as a 7-car train, often with the four car already in blue livery and the three car still in LT red or in some cases unpainted.

Movements to Stewart’s Lane

The following table shows details of all the ‘Standard stock’ cars purchased by or reserved for the Southern Region (whether used subsequently on the Isle of Wight or not) and gives details of subsequent disposals for the rejected cars, renumbering of the overhauled cars and their initial unit allocation. The ‘New’ date is the date cars delivered to London Transport. The storage location is either Micheldever (MVR) or Ruislip depot (RLP) though some vehicles spent times at both as shown. The scrap column shows the dates vehicles moved from either Micheldever or Ruislip to Bird Group, Long Marston who scrapped all the surplus vehicles. The few cars with ‘*’ shown in this column were unfit to move and scrapped on site at Ruislip by Bird Group staff.

 

LT
Car No.

Type

New

Wdn by LT

Storage
location

Selected
for IoW

Release
ex.Acton

New
SR No.

To
unit

Scrap

Driving Motor Cars

3009

1929 UCC

5-Jun-30

Oct-64

RLP

No

-

-

-

19-Jun-67

3010

1929 UCC

9-Jun-30

Oct-64

RLP

Yes

13-May-66

S12S7

042

-

3028

1928 UCC

11-Nov-29

Oct-64

MVR/RLP

No

-

-

-

23-Nov-67

3033

1928 UCC

14-Dec-29

Oct-64

MVR/RLP

No

-

-

-

3-Jul-67

3035

1928 UCC

17-Dec-29

Oct-64

MVR/RLP

No

-

-

-

3-Jul-67

3037

1928 UCC

19-Dec-29

Oct-64

MVR/RLP

No

-

-

-

23-Nov-67

3040

1928 UCC

12-Mar-29

Oct-64

RLP

No

-

-

-

5-Jun-67

3041

1928 UCC

8-Mar-29

Oct-64

RLP

Yes

18-Aug-66

S17S8

044

-

3044

1928 UCC

28-Mar-29

Oct-64

MVR/RLP

No

-

-

-

27-Sep-67

3045

1928 UCC

26-Mar-29

Oct-64

RLP

Yes

10-Jun-66

S19S

037

-

3047

1928 UCC

12-Apr-29

Oct-64

MVR/RLP

No

-

-

-

3-Jul-67

3062

1928 UCC

16-May-29

Oct-64

RLP

No

-

-

-

19-Jun-67

3064

1928 UCC

27-May-29

Oct-64

RLP

No

-

-

-

19-Jun-67

3074

1931 MCW

3-Dec-31

Jun-64

MVR

Yes

29-Sep-66

S8S

046

-

3082

1931 MCW

15-Dec-31

Nov-66

RLP/MVR

No

-

-

-

11-Aug-70

3084

1931 MCW

15-Dec-31

Aug-66

-

Yes

17-Nov-66

S6S

045

-

3141

1931 MCW

15-Mar-32

Jun-63

MVR

Yes

8-Sep-66

S13S

041

-

3185

1931 MCW

20-Apr-32

Oct-66

-

Yes

26-Jan-67

S5S

033

-

3209

1931 MCW

11-May-32

Nov-66

-

Yes

16-Feb-67

S7S

034

-

3223

1931 MCW

1-Jun-32

Nov-66

-

Yes

16-Feb-67

S9S

035

-

3251

1931 MCW

21-Jun-32

Oct-66

-

Yes

5-Jan-67

S3S

032

-

3253

1931 MCW

21-Jun-32

Jun-64

MVR

Yes

20-Oct-66

S15S

042

-

32739

1931 MCW

3-Dec-31

Aug-64

-

Yes

20-Mar-71

S15S10

042

-

3288

1928 UCC

22-Jul-29

Oct-64

RLP

No

-

-

-

5-Jun-67 *

3292

1928 UCC

5-Sep-29

Oct-64

MVR/RLP

No

-

-

-

3-Jul-67

3301

1928 UCC

3-Oct-29

Oct-64

MVR/RLP

No

-

-

-

3-Jul-67

3303

1928 UCC

7-Oct-29

Oct-64

MVR/RLP

No

-

-

-

23-Nov-67

3308

1928 UCC

10-29

Oct-64

MVR

Yes

8-Sep-66

S20S

041

-

331011

1931 MCW

9-Feb-32

Nov-66

RLP/MVR

No

-

-

-

11-Aug-70

3311

1928 UCC

21-Oct-29

Oct-64

MVR/RLP

No

-

-

-

3-Jul-67

331212

1931 MCW

9-Feb-32

Nov-66

RLP/MVR

No

-

-

-

11-Aug-70

3313

1927 MCW

11-Jun-29

Oct-64

RLP

Yes

13-May-66

S25S

046

-

3314

1927 MCW

11-Jun-29

Oct-64

MVR/RLP

No

-

-

-

19-Jun-67

3315

1927 MCW

18-Jun-29

Oct-64

RLP

Yes

8-Jul-66

S23S

045

-

3696

1934 MCW

26-Nov-34

Oct-66

-

Yes

26-Jan-67

S10S

Spare

 

3702

1934 MCW

14-Jan-35

Jul-64

MVR

Yes

8-Jul-66

S4S

044

-

3703

1934 MCW

26-Nov-34

Jul-64

MVR

Yes

29-Sep-66

S1S

031

-

3705

1934 MCW

11-Dec-34

Aug-66

-

Yes

17-Nov-66

S11S

036

-

3706

1934 MCW

18-Feb-35

Jul-64

MVR

Yes

20-Oct-66

S2S

043

-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Control Trailers

5248

1924 CL

8-Sep-25

Oct-64

MVR

No

-

-

-

14-Sep-68

5262

1924 CL

29-Oct-25

Oct-64

RLP

No

-

-

-

27-Sep-67

5270

1924 CL

8-Jan-26

Oct-64

RLP/MVR

No

-

-

-

11-Aug-70

5273

1925 MCW

31-Jul-26

Oct-64

RLP/MVR

No

-

-

-

11-Aug-70

5277

1925 MCW

28-Jul-26

Oct-64

RLP/MVR

No

-

-

-

11-Aug-70

5279

1925 MCW

23-Aug-26

Oct-64

MVR

Yes

8-Sep-66

S27S

041

-

5281

1925 MCW

3-Sep-26

Oct-64

RLP

No

-

-

-

27-Sep-67

5283

1925 MCW

25-Aug-26

Oct-64

MVR

Yes

20-Oct-66

S31S

043

-

5285

1925 MCW

31-Aug-26

Oct-64

RLP/MVR

No

-

-

-

11-Aug-70

5287

1925 MCW

16-Sep-26

Oct-64

RLP

No

-

-

-

27-Sep-67

5289

1925 MCW

20-Sep-26

Oct-64

RLP

No

-

-

-

5-Jun-67 *

5290

1925 MCW

18-Sep-26

Oct-64

MVR

Yes

5-Jan-67

S32S

034

-

5291

1925 MCW

21-Sep-26

Oct-64

MVR

Yes

18-Aug-66

S33S

044

-

5293

1925 MCW

6-Sep-26

Oct-64

MVR

Yes

29-Sep-66

S29S

042

-

5294

1925 MCW

31-Aug-26

Oct-64

RLP

Yes

10-Jun-66

S38S13

031

-

5296

1925 MCW

14-Sep-26

Oct-64

MVR

No

-

-

-

14-Sep-68

5302

1925 MCW

6-Sep-26

Oct-64

MVR

Yes

26-Jan-67

S34S

035

-

5304

1925 MCW

24-Sep-26

Oct-64

MVR

Yes

1-Dec-66

S28S

032

-

5312

1925 MCW

5-Oct-26

Oct-64

MVR

Yes

5-Jan-67

S30S

033

-

5350

1927 MCW

22-May-29

Oct-64

MVR

Yes

18-Aug-66

S36S

036

-

5412

1928 UCC

27-Mar-29

Oct-64

RLP

No

-

-

-

11-Dec-67

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Trailers

7029

1928 UCC

25-May-29

Oct-64

RLP

No

-

-

-

27-Sep-67

7159

1931 GCW

19-Mar-32

May-64

MVR

No

-

-

-

14-Sep-68

7166

1931 GCW

19-Apr-32

May-64

MVR

No

-

-

-

14-Sep-68

7167

1931 GCW

19-Apr-32

Apr-64

MVR

No

-

-

-

14-Sep-68

7173

1931 GCW

3-May-32

May-64

MVR

No

-

-

-

14-Sep-68

7181

1931 GCW

1-Jun-32

May-64

MVR

No

-

-

-

14-Sep-68

7189

1931 GCW

14-Jun-32

Mar-64

MVR

No

-

-

-

14-Sep-68

7275

1923 CL

15-Jan-24

Oct-64

MVR

Yes

20-Oct-66

S43S

043

-

7276

1923 CL

24-Dec-23

Oct-64

RLP

No

-

-

-

22-Aug-67

7277

1923 CL

15-Jan-24

Oct-64

RLP

No

-

-

-

5-Jun-67 *

7279

1923 CL

25-Jan-24

Oct-64

RLP

Yes

10-Jun-66

S47S

031

-

7280

1923 CL

25-Jan-24

Oct-64

MVR

Yes

29-Sep-66

S42S

042

-

7281

1923 CL

31-Jan-24

Oct-64

RLP

Yes

8-Jul-66

S44S

044

-

7282

1923 CL

26-Jan-24

Oct-64

MVR

Yes

1-Dec-66

S93S

033

-

7283

1923 CL

1-Feb-24

Oct-64

MVR

Yes

13-May-66

S46S

046

-

7285

1923 CL

31-Jan-24

Oct-64

MVR

Yes

1-Dec-66

S92S

032

-

7286

1923 CL

16-Feb-24

Oct-64

MVR

Yes

8-Sep-66

S41S

041

-

7287

1923 CL

15-Feb-24

Oct-64

MVR

Yes

5-Jan-67

S94S

034

-

7290

1923 CL

7-Feb-24

Oct-64

RLP

Yes

8-Jul-66

S96S

036

-

7292

1923 CL

8-Feb-24

Oct-64

MVR

Yes

16-Feb-67

S95S

035

-

7293

1923 CL

18-Feb-24

Oct-64

MVR

Yes

17-Nov-66

S45S

045

-

7295

1923 CL

26-Feb-24

Oct-64

RLP

No

-

-

-

11-Dec-67

7296

1923 CL

27-Feb-24

Oct-64

RLP

Yes

13-May-66

S49S

046

-

7298

1923 CL

25-Feb-24

Oct-64

RLP

Yes

17-Nov-66

S48S

045

-

 

Footnotes (Movements to Stewart’s Lane)

7

Renumbered S22S before entering service.

8

Renumbered S21S before entering service.

9

Renumbered from 3073 Sep-65.

10

Replacement for original S15S.

11

Renumbered from 3110 Jul-65.

12

Renumbered from 3112 Jul-65.

13

Renumbered S26S before entering service.

 

Repainted DM ‘D’-car S23S (1927 Metropolitan Carriage,  Wagon & Finance Co.) coupled to Waterloo & City Line match wagon DS1665 inside Stewarts Lane depot. Numbered up for unit no.044 this car was actually formed into unit no.045.

© Brian Hardy

 

External Repainting

On arrival at Stewarts Lane the cars were prepared for repainting into blue livery. Cab ends to be used as such were painted all yellow and the new unit number was painted at the top of the communicating door. On DM cars the yellow was carried around onto the cab door, but this was not done on CT cars as the cab doors were further inset and reached up further into the roofline. Control trailers intended to run as trailers had their cab ends painted all blue though the windows were not overpainted.

‘A’-end cars had this letter painted above the driver’s observation light, ‘D’ end cars had this letter painted above the offside cab observation light; both on small plates affixed to the car ends. Car numbers were white transfers and the new BR double arrow symbol was affixed to the bodysides of driving motor seconds at waist height just behind the cab doors. The 4 VEC & 3 TIS units were in fact the first complete fleet to run on BR in the new corporate livery.

Internal Painting & Seating

Internally the cars were repainted mushroom with white ceilings. Each coach had some seats removed and replaced by luggage shelves, motor coaches having one large one replacing four longitudinal seats, whilst trailers and driving trailers had two smaller ones, one each side of the coach, both replacing three seats. The windows behind these shelving units were panelled over. DM cars were fitted with ‘three chime’ whistles recovered from HA (TOPS Class 71) electric locomotives being converted to HB (TOPS Class 74) Electro-Diesels, all three tones sounded together when the whistle was operated. CT cabs (where used as such) retained their LT single tone whistles.

Test Running

Completed units were given test runs on the main line, usually running from Stewarts Lane to Woking via East Putney and Wimbledon, and subsequently units were then worked down to Fratton depot where some were based for a while for crew training trips to Haslemere and back prior to being shipped to the Isle of Wight.

 

 

3 TIS unit no.037 (with 4 VEC unit no.043 leading) passing Walton-On-Thames on a trial run from Wimbledon to Woking in July 1966. Due to a reduced requirement of stock, unit no.037 was disbanded immediately upon arrival at the Island with rear car S9S (built 1931 by Metropolitan Carriage, Wagon & Finance Co.) going into 3 TIS unit no.035. On the London-end of the test train, this DM ‘D’-car was placed on the south end of the island’s unit no.035.

© Chris Wilson collection

 

Unit Descriptions

Due to the varied origins of the vehicles used to form the 4 VEC & 3 TIS units, there were a number of detail differences between vehicles of the same type, though each type of car had identical seating capacities and internal layout despite differences in length and weight. 4 VEC units also were formed in two different ways, some with two trailers marshalled between two motor coaches, others had one of the trailers replaced by a control trailer, not used as such, just as an ordinary trailer with the cab out of use, these seated four less than an ordinary trailer.

Each type of car also had standard door positions, later build ‘Standard’ stock trailers had additional single leaf doors at extreme car ends, but none were eventually used on the Isle of Wight, thereby avoiding problems with a large gap between train and platform at the sharply curved Ryde Esplanade station. This had been a concern of the Ministry of Transport and had such trailers been used, the end doors would have had to be locked out of use or removed altogether adding to the expense of converting such trailers. Some cars were constructed of steel panels fixed to a wooden framing, all mounted on a steel underframe, (Union Construction Co.  cars), whilst others had steel framing.

 

Clearly visible in this photograph of an ‘A’-end motor coach are the LT Ward coupler rubbing plates, the three jumper housings (once on the island configured two on the east side /one on the west), the brake hoses, whistle and security chains.

Being an DM ‘A’-car, this would have been placed on the north end of an island’s 4 VEC unit; the 3 TIS units only having ‘D’-end motor coaches. The unit has just made a test run from Wimbledon and is seen at Woking having its tail lamp attached before returning (March 1967).

© Chris Wilson collection

 

Couplings

The ‘Standard’ stock was coupled by ‘Ward’ couplers with a central buffer above, which joined vehicles mechanically only, jumper connections being used for electrical connections and air hoses for brake connections. This stock had three separate 10-way jumper connections, one for control circuits, one for auxiliary circuits and a third for brake circuits. Two were mounted low down on the vehicle ends to one side of the coupler, one on the other and it was the locations of these being unbalanced that meant that this stock was ‘handed’ and had to couple ‘A’ end to ‘D’ end to enable correct connections to be made. When the earliest ‘Standard’ stock was delivered only two jumpers were provided, but the 1929, 1930 and final 1931 /1934 deliveries were fitted from new with EP brakes which required provision of the third set of control jumpers to control this equipment. All earlier vehicles were subsequently modified and fitted with EP brakes by 1936.

On the Isle of Wight, the two adjacent connections were always on the East side of the stock. The actual 10-way sockets were fitted into the car ends horizontally and protected by hinged rectangular covers which were lifted up when a jumper required to be inserted and down again to keep it in place. Jumper heads were right-angled so with the pin connections horizontal when inserted into the sockets, the jumper cable was pointing downwards. This was reverse of normal SR practice where the receptacle was right angled with the socket facing downwards and the jumper head was straight. A further difference was that the jumper had a head at both ends rather than being hard-wired to one of the vehicles.

One air hose was fitted each side of the end gangway doors, one for the brake pipe, the other being main reservoir connections. On the island, the brake pipe ran along the East side of the train, the main reservoir along the West.

DM ‘D’-car S23S at Clapham Junction carrying unit no.044. Built by Metropolitan Carriage, Wagon & Finance Co. in 1927, it is seen next to trailer car S45S built by Cammell, Laird & Co. in 1923. Both cars were withdrawn in 1974.

Note the pillar dividing the two passenger sliding door leaves; their runner wheel housings being clearly visible in these panelled doors. The coach number carried both ‘S’ prefix and suffix; the latter being dropped c.1976.

© Chris Wilson collection (photo by John Field)

 

Wheels & Bogies

Due to the low level of the car floors on tube stock at about 2' 3" above rail level, the wheels of trailer bogies projected above floor level and were enclosed within a wheel arch meaning that all cars had some longitudinal seating at vehicle ends with the seats mounted on these wheel arches. Trailer bogies were the LT ‘V’ type whilst motor bogies were much larger and were the LT ‘Z’ type, being fitted with 36" wheels and powered by two 240hp G.E.C. WT54A traction motors with 63:17 ratio gears.

With the exception of two roller bearing fitted trailers (S46S was one), all cars selected for use on the Isle of Wight were fitted with oil axleboxes. These four roller bearing bogies were later distributed around the fleet following bogie overhauls with one per vehicle on four cars at any one time. Control equipment was provided by BTH on DM cars, whilst trailers had M.V equipment and CT cars had GEC gear except the solitary 1927 MCW vehicle which had BTH equipment.

On motor coaches, the vehicle underframe was cranked-up over the motor bogie and the space above was occupied by an equipment compartment containing switchgear, batteries and compressors, as due to the age of this stock, such equipment was still too bulky to be placed below the car floor. Motor coaches had shoegear fitted on both bogies, there being no shoes on any trailers or control trailers.

There were no power jumpers linking vehicles, this being prohibited by the Ministry of Transport on tube stock to avoid fire risk, resulting in each motor coach being self-contained electrically at line voltage, and restricted the use of any single motor coach operated train to avoid ‘gapping‘, this being the reason that the 3 TIS units did not run in service on their own.

 

Outside Ryde depot, Control Trailer S26 of unit no.031 was one of the 1925 Metropolitan Carriage, Wagon & Finance Co. cars which had ribbed passenger sliding doors.

The 1927 Metropolitan Carriage, Wagon & Finance Co. cars were the only other build to have  ribbed doors.

The larger lamps of the control trailers is noticeable, as it the different clerestory roof-end profile and the larger secondman’s observation light. Finally, the LT guard’s toggle-switches are present albeit unused on the island.

© Brian Hardy

 

Sliding Doors

All cars had air operated sliding doors, trailers and control trailers having two pairs each side, motor coaches only one, though these had a guard's door at the extreme car end. On the 1927 /1928 /1929 cars these were of an inwards opening slam type, 1931 /1934 cars having an air operated sliding door. On LT these doors were available for passenger use when the guard's position was not in use. However, this feature was altered on cars sent to the Isle of Wight where door operation was made independent of the passenger doors and these doors were not available for passenger use.

Door openings were 4' 6" wide on 1923 /1927 /1928 /1929 trailers, 5' 7½" wide on 1927 /1929 DM cars and this was divided into two 2' 9¾" widths on 1928 DM cars with the centre door pillar. On 1931 /`1934 cars the door width was 5' 11".

 

The differences in the motorcoach roofs of cars S1 (1934 Metropolitan Carriage, Wagon & Finance Co. DM ‘D’-car recently formed into 5-car unit no.041)  and  S21 beyond (1928 Union Construction Co. DM ‘D’-car in unit no.044) are very noticeable (Ryde St John’s Road 17th October 1983).

 John Atkinson

 

‘Clerestory’ style roofs

Each ‘Standard’ stock vehicle had a low ‘clerestory’ style roof with a raised centre section alongside of which were ventilator scoops which forced air into the vehicles through vents inside the car at ceiling level. Due to the different builders for the 4 VEC & 3 TIS stock, the designs of these ventilator scoops varied on the different batches of cars. The roof profile was more conventional for a short section above the door pockets to give space for the doors to slide back.

Motor coaches had the ‘clerestory’ profile carried right to the end of the vehicle above the cab giving a stepped profile with the roof of the centre raised section continuing over the step slightly. However, on control trailers the ‘clerestory’ stopped short of the cab door and the end roof profile was one smooth curve, altering the appearance of these cabs somewhat, although they were not seen at ends of a train as the 3 TIS units were normally formed on the south end of seven car trains with the CT cab coupled against the 4 VEC unit.

There were also ventilator covers on the ends of each car just below roof level with corresponding grilles inside above the communicating doors. At other than cab ends, all cars had a central inwards opening communicating door fitted with a droplight window which could be lowered to increase ventilation. The doors were not to be used when the trains were moving as there were no gangway ends fitted but were a feature of all tube stock to allow emergency access along the full length of a train.

 

The square passenger lights of withdrawn cars are clearly visible at Ryde St Johns Road c.1983 but more noticeable are the two pairs of passenger doors on a control trailer car (S30) compared to just one pair on a motor-coach (S19).

‘D’ motor-coach S19 (1928-built Union Construction Co.) was originally formed in 4 VEC unit no.043 whilst control trailer S30 (1925 Metropolitan Carriage, Wagon & Finance Co.) was formed in 3 TIS unit no.033. Both vehicles were withdrawn in December 1982, car S30 was scrapped at Ryde in 1987 whilst S19 was two years later in Sandown.

© Chris Wilson collection

 

Passenger Lights (Side Windows)

All cars had almost square side windows along the length of the seating areas, 1923 stock having these able to slide downwards to open about 4", all later cars had fixed windows with a ‘lift and pull inwards’ hopper ventilator above, hinged at the bottom.

 

The centre door pillar identifies this as a 1928 Union Construction Co. DM car S21. Seating is the later ‘D78’ District Line style (IoW cars were re-upholstered from late 1981-on).

Note two of the roof vents have been plated over.

 Brian Hardy

 

Passenger Lamps

Lighting was provided by incandescent bulbs covered with bell-shaped opal glass shades along the inside of the roof ventilator line with others fitted above the side lights (windows). Lighting was at line voltage (720v - 750v on the island) with five lamps in series and fed from the traction supply via the nearest motor coach.

 

Immediately visible is the guard’s end-vestibule inward- opening slam-door of car S23S (unit no.045); a 1928 Union Construction Co. DM ‘D’-car at Ryde Pier Head. Note the curved rainstrips above the doorways.

S23S was later written off (along with both trailer cars S45S & S48S) in a collision with unit no.035 at Ryde St Johns Road.

© Brian Hardy

 

Vestibules

Door vestibule draught screens were glazed though those where a luggage storage area had been fitted beyond had the relevant adjacent draught screen window painted over. All car floors were covered in the wooden slatted style with the grooves running longitudinally in the seating area and transversely in door vestibules.

 

Solo 3 TIS unit no. 486031 (with CT 28 leading) is seen at Sandown working the 16.31 Shanklin to Ryde Pier Head service. Alongside is DM ‘A’ car 8 of 5-car unit no.485044 with the 16.22 ex. Ryde Pier Head on September 27th 1989.

The differences between the clerestory roof of car 8 (1931 Metropolitan Carriage, Wagon & Finance Co.) and earlier car 28 (1925 Metropolitan Carriage, Wagon & Finance Co.) is immediately apparent.

© Chris Wilson

 

Detail Differences

Detail differences between the different batches of cars were numerous, the two 1927 Metropolitan Carriage, Wagon & Finance Co. cars were delivered in June 1929 to the Piccadilly line but spent most of their lives on the Central line before moving to the Northern City line in 1962. These cars did not have an overhang on the clerestory roof fully exposing the wedge shaped air scoops and the windows were almost flush with the bodysides giving them a smoother appearance. The sliding doors had ribbed panels and curved rainstrips above them, and over the offside of the switch compartment there were no ventilation louvres.

The three 1928 Union Construction Co.  cars were delivered in 1929 to the Piccadilly line, two spent brief periods on the Bakerloo line and one on the Central line from October 1952, all three moving to the Northern City line in August 1962. These cars had the bodyside panels curving inwards towards the bottom, straight rainstrips over the doors and sliding doors with flusher (but not flat) panels. They also all had the centre door pillar between the sliding doors. There were ventilator louvres above the switch compartment on both sides.

 

Ryde St John’s Road 17th October 1983 and departing 4 VEC unit no.485042 (displaying a red tail disc) passes stabled blue /grey stock including two motorcoaches and one trailer.

Note the different doors on the motor-coach (flush) and adjacent trailer (panelled). Against the buffer stops is the island’s Hunslet TOPS class 05 shunting locomotive (D2554).

© John Atkinson

 

The sole 1929 Union Construction Company car had completely flush sliding-door panels without the centre pillar and there were four rectangular covers over the switch compartment replacing the louvres, these being open at the bottom and curving with the roofline ending under the clerestory overhang. All the above mentioned cars had the slam type guard's door, these being 1' 10" wide.

The 1931 /1934 Metropolitan Carriage, Wagon & Finance Co. cars were virtually indistinguishable and all were delivered new to the Piccadilly line, the 1931 cars in 1932/3 and the 1934 cars in the first half of 1935. Most spent their whole lives on the Piccadilly line though two worked briefly on the Central line in 1960 and many ended their days on the Northern City line from 1962. The 1931 cars had a spring toggle catch on their hopper ventilators whilst the 1934 cars were of the ‘lift & pull’ type. On both types the panelling was flat below the waistline and the rainstrips reverted to the curved style of the 1927 cars. They also had similar rectangular covers fitted on the roof above the switch compartment to the 1929 Union Construction Co.  car.

 

 

Trailer car S43 was then British Rail’s oldest passenger coach having been built in 1923 by Cammell, Laird & Co. Decorated to celebrate it’s 60 years in service, it is seen here at Ryde St Johns Road on 5th October 1984. It was last used in passenger service during September 1988 and was withdrawn on 30th September 1988.

These cars had passenger droplights along their length (opening by around 4”). Also visible is the external beading along the bodyside. On the right is S20, one of the remaining two 1928 Union Construction Co. driving motor cars.

© Chris Wilson

 

Trailer Cars

All trailer cars eventually selected for use on the island were of one type, and were the oldest vehicles utilised, all being built by Cammell, Laird & Co. in 1923 and delivered early in 1924 to Golders Green depot for use on what is now the Northern Line. Many were transferred in 1939 to the Northern City Line (Finsbury Park to Moorgate) and survived there until withdrawn in 1964 being replaced by newer ‘Standard’ stock cars. All the Island examples came from this source.

At the car end were two seats against the bulkhead each side of the communicating door, two sets of five longitudinal seats over the wheel arches, the first door vestibule with a pair of sliding doors each side, a bay of three longitudinal seats though those on the right hand side when viewing from the car end were replaced by luggage shelves, one bay of transverse two aside facing seats, a further bay of three longitudinal seats, again with luggage shelves replacing those on the left side (i.e. diagonally opposite from the first set of luggage shelves), the second door vestibule, a further set of five aside longitudinal seats over the wheel arches and a further pair of two aside seats against the bulkhead of the car once again.

Longitudinal seats all had leather covered armrests separating each seat, all the transverse pairs did not. The five‑aside seats over wheel arches had the cushions splitting them two & three with the three-seater towards the car ends, in the centremost saloon the three‑aside seats were similarly divided one & two with the two-seater against the door partition. These vehicles all had the pull down droplights and there were no centre pillars in door openings.

These cars had a waistband running along the bodyside just below the bottom of the windows, continuing round the car end to the communicating door. They also had rectangular air scoops in three groups of three on the roof.

Trailer Car Lengths, Diagram Numbers & Electrical Codes

Overall, these cars seated forty-two and were given the BR diagram number 849, SR electrical code DAF and later the design code EH2.61.0A. They weighed 17 tons and were 49' 9¼" long with bogie centres at 33' 5½" and had MV control equipment. There were fourteen of these cars sent to the island and they were numbered S41S - S49S & S92S - S96S.

 

4 VEC unit 485044 passes some withdrawn contemporaries including CT 28 (which was only returned to a driving car the previous year) as it approaches Ryde St Johns Road forming the 1042 Ryde Pier Head to Shanklin on 3rd November 1989.

© Chris Wilson

 

Motor Cars

Motor coaches used on the island came from five different batches of ‘Standard’ stock, twenty vehicles being used on the island, though only nineteen were ever there at one time due to the replacement of a damaged car with a further one from London Transport and taking the same number as the original car. All had an identical seating layout but there were differences in length and weight and a number of other design details. These cars were from the following batches:

                Two 1927 MCW (both ‘D’) numbered S23S & S25S.

        Three 1928 Union Construction Co.  (one ‘A’ & two ‘D’) numbered S19S - S21S, (S21S originally planned to be numbered S17S).

                One 1929 UCC ‘A’ numbered S22S, (originally planned to be numbered S12S).

                Nine 1931 MCW (two ‘A’ & seven ‘D’) numbered S3S, S5S - S9S, S13S, S15S, S15S (2nd one).

                Five 1934 MCW (three ‘A’ & two ‘D’) numbered S1S, S2S, S4S, S10S, S11S.

The layout of all these cars was as follows. Driver's cab entered by inwards opening doors each side, these being quite narrow at only 1' 6½" wide and fitted with a droplight window. The cab front had two observation lights each side of an inset inwards opening communicating door, this door also having a window fitted though this was narrower and taller than the observation lights. Only the driver's observation light was provided with a windscreen wiper, which when parked was behind a vertical cover alongside the inner edge of the window.

The offside observation light was shallower and its bottom level higher than the driver's side as it was above the glazed panel where the destination plates had been displayed on LT These were not used on the Isle of Wight and were subsequently overpainted and many later panelled over if the glazing was broken.

Below each observation light was a brake pipe connection and the jumper receptacles were low down just above the solebar, the exact layout of these depending on whether the car was an ‘A’ or ‘D’ type. On the offside below the destination indicator were five lights, arranged in a square with two each side of the brake pipe and a further one between the two on the offside of the brake pipe. This centremost one of the three was the tail-lamp, the other four formerly used for displaying headcodes on LT were not used on the island for this purpose but remained operational to provide some form of head indication at night.

An air operated whistle was mounted vertically on the door pillar between the driver's window and the door, and the unit number was painted at the top of the door. A BR design three-chime whistle was fitted to DM cabs, though the original LT type was retained on the cab ends of CT vehicles.

 

NSE-liveried (with Ryde-Rail logo) ‘D’-end motor coach 5 (built 1931 by Metropolitan Carriage, Wagon & Finance Co.) of unit no.485043 awaiting departure from Brading in July 1988.

 John Atkinson

 

Equipment Compartment

Behind the driver's cab was the equipment compartment. Access to this area was via a door from the rear of the cab and there was also a further swing door opening into this area from the passenger saloon. This area of the coach, occupying the area over the raised section of underframe above the motor bogie, had no windows but there were ventilation grilles on the nearside behind the driver and three large removable panels on the offside to allow access to the equipment inside.

The compressor was always behind the driver where the side grilles were. The sheet panels on the offside were on the side of the contactor bank. On DM cars built prior to 1926 (none of which were utilised on the Isle of Wight) there were grilles that side too but it was realised that the provision of plain sheeting was less expensive than grilles. There were further ventilation arrangements on the roof above, the detail of these differing amongst the types of car builders.

Passenger Saloon

Adjacent to this compartment was a bay of eight transverse seats, two aside facing on each side of a central gangway. The swing door into the equipment compartment was raised slightly with a step from the floor level of the passenger area to the higher level of the equipment compartment. Beyond this were longitudinal seats for four, those on the offside (when motor coach leading) having been replaced by luggage shelves. The cushions divided these two & two.

Then came the door opening, again with two pairs of sliding doors each side. Some vehicles had a centre door pillar when the doors were open, though later build car did not have this feature. The remainder of the coach was taken up with further longitudinal seating with seven seats each side, the cushions dividing these two-three-two.

 

Driver and guard change ends at Shanklin on Monday 17th October 1983. This photograph illustrates the diminutive size of unit no. 485042.

Car S22 (1929 Union Construction Co.) is missing its ‘A’-end designation on the square plate above the driver’s observation light. Besides the overhang of the clerestory roof, the bulbous tail-lamp is particularly visible.

 John Atkinson

 

Guard's Vestibule

Finally, at the inner end of the car was the guard's vestibule with a door control panel on each side of the communicating door mounted on the car end bulkhead, except for those 1927 /1928/ 1929 cars with hinged guard's doors when the door control panel was mounted on the draught screen. There were push buttons for opening (two buttons required to be operated together to prevent inadvertent door opening), closing doors and giving the starting signal. A pilot light was illuminated when all doors were properly closed and the starting signal could not be given until this was illuminated.

There was also a brake gauge and emergency brake handle fitted along with ‘loudaphone’ equipment to allow driver/guard communication, and two small fold-down seats were mounted on the car end for use by the guard. Draught screens at this end of the car had ‘No exit from these doors’ notices affixed and the side doors were similarly marked ‘No Entry’ to prevent passengers attempting to use this vestibule. An emergency tool & ambulance box was fitted in the door entrance vestibule of all ‘D’ end motor coaches so each unit had one. All motor coaches had hopper ventilators above the side windows and were equipped with BTH control equipment and seated twenty-six.

Motor Car Lengths, Diagram Numbers & Electrical Codes

1927 /1928 /1929 motor coaches were 51' 5½" long over couplers, 49' 9¼" over bodywork, and weighed 29 tons, 1931 /1934 cars were 53' 1" over couplers with an overall body length of 51' 5" and the body tapered inwards slightly at both ends to keep the vehicle within the loading gauge on tight curves. These cars also weighed more at 31 tons. Both types had bogie centres set at 33' 1".

Each 4 VEC unit was provided with one of each type so that the overall unit length remained the same.

All motor coaches were given the BR diagram number 848, 1927 /1928 /1929 cars were allocated the SR Code CV‑1A, 1931 /1934 cars being CV. When BR design codes were allocated, 1927 /1928 /1929 cars were EB2.62.0A (‘A’) and EB2.62.1A (‘D’) whilst 1931 /1934 cars were EB2.61.0A (‘A’) and EB2.61.1A (‘D’).

 

 

Shewing 3 TIS unit no.486031, car 28 leads 49 & 7 (from unit no.485044) into Ryde Esplanade on the 14.31 Shanklin to Ryde Pier Head service (21st July 1990).

The sight of a control trailer leading a passenger train was very unusual for the 3 TIS units rarely operated solo having just one motor bogie. Car 28 had its controller reinstated along with a hinged deadman’s handle (instead of the button used for shunting), ‘modern’ head /tail-lamps. Although car 28 was equipped with shoegear there was no power line through to the motorcoach.

© Chris Wilson

 

Control Trailers

Ten control trailers were sent to the Isle of Wight, six ‘A’ cars being used at the Ryde end of 3 TIS units, the remaining four ‘D’ cars being used as ordinary trailers formed intermediately within a 4 VEC unit. Nine of these were 1925 Metropolitan Carriage, Wagon & Finance Co. cars, the remaining one was a 1927 Metropolitan Carriage, Wagon & Finance Co. example.

Driving Cabs

The cab ends on the 1925 cars differed from those of motor coaches with the round roofline, observation lights of equal size as there were no destination apertures fitted as these cab were previously formed in the centre of trains on LT, and the arrangement of the headcode lamps, these being arranged two on each side of the cab front mounted just outside the brake pipe. Unlike DM cabs these lamps were much larger and fitted with movable external covers. Only the top offside one was used on the Isle of Wight, being modified as a tail-lamp.

The cab ends also had a box with toggle switch below fitted outside each observation light just where to roof started to curve inwards, these had formerly been used on LT for platform staff to be able to close doors on one half of a train prior to an uncoupling operation. Again, these were unused on the island.

The cabs were quite narrow and had 1' 10" wide in-swinging side doors each side which projected up above cantrail level. There was a further access door from the rear of the cab into the passenger saloon.

Passenger Saloons

Behind the cab were longitudinal seats each side for five, the first door vestibule, then the centre saloon which had three-aside longitudinal seats each end with one bay of eight transverse seats at the centre arranged as facing two-aside seats. This area had diagonally opposite three seat units replaced by luggage stowage racks, that on the driver's side being to the rear of the first pair of doors.

Beyond the second door vestibule, seating was again arranged longitudinally with five aside over the wheel arches and at the coach end were a pair of two-aside seats against the vehicle end. The nine 1925 Metropolitan Carriage, Wagon & Finance Co. cars had their roof mounted ventilator scoops almost hidden below the clerestory overhang and the doors were ribbed and there was a bodyside waist strip. The sole 1927 car had a smoother appearance, particularly the cab end, and the roof ventilators were more visible. It also had ribbed type doors and both varieties had curved rainstrips over the door openings.

Control Trailer Car Lengths, Diagram Numbers & Electrical Codes

Overall, therefore these vehicles seated thirty-eight second. They were 50' 2½" long over bodywork, 51' 10¾" over couplers with bogie centres at 33' 1½" and weighed 17 tons. The BR diagram number 850 was allocated to these vehicles along with an SR electrical code DAE and a design code of EE2.60.0A.

Car Numbering

These ten cars were numbered S26S - S34S & S36S, the four odd numbers ‘D’ cars having their driving cabs not used as such, whilst those of the ‘A’ cars, although at the end of a unit, were not used to control trains either, and were decommissioned and later stripped of equipment during rewiring. All the 1925 vehicles had control equipment provided by GEC, the 1927 vehicle had BTH equipment.

 

 

Coupled to a 4 VEC unit, 3 TIS no.035 is seen at Ryde Pier Head platform one /two alongside a Drewry diesel-powered tram in summer 1967 (these trams having been converted from petrol in 1959). The tramway closed on 26th January 1969.

© Chris Wilson collection

 

‘New’ Electric Railway

Electrification

In preparation for the introduction of electric trains on the Isle of Wight, the Smallbrook Junction to Cowes line was closed from 21st February 1966 and the Ventnor line was also closed beyond Shanklin from 18th April 1966 leaving just the Ryde to Shanklin 8½ mile section in operation. This section was then modernised during 1966 with the third rail installed fed by substations at Ryde, Rowborough (near Brading) and Sandown

The system was then operating at a nominal 630v DC and supervised initially from a control room at the Ryde substation, thought this was later transferred to the mainland at Havant. When this control room subsequently closed in the 1990's, the operation was overseen from Eastleigh.

Each substation had a 33kv feed from the Area Board, overseen by their control room at Wootton Common Grid. Uniquely, the island substations were the responsibility of the rolling stock depot for emergencies and routine maintenance.

 

Ryde Pier Head station approach in 2008. Besides the pier’s timber decking and the wooden sleepers. The right hand railway track is not long out of use. Note the remains of the tramway station and formation over on the left.

© C. Watts

 

Infrastructure Works

Other works involved reducing the platforms at Ryde Pier Head from four to two (one of the tracks with a platform each side), raising the tracks through the stations to match-up with the floor height of the tube stock, and alterations in the tunnel near Ryde Esplanade.

The platforms at Ryde Esplanade were lowered as it was not possible to raise the track at this location. Work also commenced in converting the former carriage sheds at Ryde St Johns Road into a depot for the new electric trains.

 

The position of the station canopy shews the widened platform two across the former (steam-operated) track.

With electrification only two platform tracks were required; the eastern side track initially being doubled-sided with platform one on the seaward (east) side. Platform three is now numbered platform one.

3 TIS unit no.033 with 4 VEC unit no.043 behind about to depart on a shuttle train to Ryde Esplanade in August 1974.

© Chris Wilson

 

Last Steam Passenger Workings

The service onto Ryde Pier was withdrawn altogether from 17th September 1966 to allow work to proceed with the remodelling and trains were then worked with a steam loco at each end between Ryde St Johns Road and Ryde Esplanade. This remaining steam service was withdrawn from 31st December 1966 and all train services covered by buses until the commencement of electric services from 20th March 1967.

 

Trying not to look too out-of-place nestling amongst all the road traffic heading to the island (including a Morris Traveller with perambulator on its roof rack) is an unidentified ‘A’-end Control Trailer car.

© Brian Hardy

 

Delivery of Electric Stock

 Meanwhile, on the mainland the new stock was being gathered together at Fratton depot and used for crew familiarisation trips to Haslemere and preparations were commenced for the shipment of the vehicles to the island. This was done via the Portsmouth to Fishbourne car ferry, the cars being carried on a Pickfords trailers fitted with a 45' length of track.

Trailers were hauled by one tractor unit and were shipped on normal service boats, but the heavier DM cars needed two tractor units to haul the load and a special ‘bridge’ arrangement to spread the load when moving onto /off the ferry and these were all shipped on special sailings and only at certain states of the tide.

The first few cars were loaded at Fratton using cranes prior to the completion of a loading ramp there, and a similar ramp was provided at Ryde St Johns Road for unloading.

 

Ministry inspection train gets the road at Ryde St Johns Road.

© Brian Hardy

 

The first car to be shipped was CT S38S on 1st September 1966, and this was used for a ministry inspection and clearance tests on 4th September to Shanklin, one pair of doors being made operable using compressed air from the steam locomotive braking supply.

 

Ministry inspection train undertaking gauging at Brading with ex.LSWR 0-4-4T ‘O2’ steam locomotive no.24 ‘Calbourne’. Details of the barrier ‘box’ wagon are currently unknown.

© Brian Hardy

 

From November 1966, three 4-car and one 3-car sets were shipped during 1966, with the remainder in 1967. At Ryde St Johns Road, vehicles were shunted by steam locomotives and match wagons into their new formations.

 

© Geoff Noakes

 

Preparation for Electric Services

Some of the new stock was stored for a while on the down line between Ryde St Johns Road and Smallbrook Junction as the new depot was not completed and the live rail was energised early in March 1967 and the first trial runs took place in readiness for the commencement of services from 20th March 1967. Not all vehicles had been shipped to the island at this stage, but as a winter service was operated initially, this was not a problem.

All cars were on the island in time for the full summer service to commence from 20th May 1967, from which time on peak Saturdays six 7-car trains were required to run a 12-minute frequency on the whole length of the line, leaving only one car spare on these days. All trains called at all stations with a journey time of 22-minutes and seated 238 (or 242) passengers.

Stock Changes

Due to the plan for providing forty-six cars being reduced to forty-three cars at a fairly late stage whilst cars were being delivered from Acton to Stewarts Lane, the planned initial unit formations were revised and a few vehicles already repainted and renumbered had their numbers altered before entering traffic, whilst others had a revised number applied at Stewarts Lane.

DM cars S12S & S17S were renumbered S22S & S21S respectively, S21S replacing another intended for this number, whilst the planned S14S appeared as S20S instead, trailer S91S was not provided and CT S26S was renumbered from S38S, the original S26S also not being provided.

The allocation of DM cars to units was also altered with the lower numbered DM ‘D’-cars going to the 3 TIS units, and those in the 4 VEC units being adjusted to ensure that each unit had one 1927 /1928 /1929 type and one 1931 /1934 type so that units were all the same overall length.

As delivered a 3 TIS unit no.037 was formed, though with the initial forty-six car plan there should have been only six 3 TIS units and seven 4 VEC units, presumably nos.031 - 036 & 041 - 047. Quite why no.‘037’ was delivered is not clear but this unit's vehicles were all formed into other units by the time public services commenced.

 

 

With car S9S leading, 3 TIS unit no.035 is on a seven car ‘VECTIS’ train from Ryde Pier Head to Shanklin in the first summer of the island’s electric train operation in July 1967. The funnel of paddle steamer ‘Ryde’ can be seen behind the train.

© Chris Wilson collection

 

Initial Unit Formations

4 VEC /3 TIS

Initial formations of the units were as follows with date of entry to service below unit number and original LT car number in italics below the new coach number.

 

4 VEC

 

‘A’

 

 

‘D’

Unit

DMBS

DTS14

TS

DMBS

Diag No.

848

850

849

848

SR Code

CV-1A

DAE

DAF

CV

041
20-Mar-67

S20S
(3308)

S27S
(5279)

S41S
(7286)

S13S
(3141)

042
20-Mar-67

S22S
(3010)

S29S
(5293)

S42S
(7280)

S15S
(3253)
S15S15
(3273)

SR Code

CV

 

 

CV-1A

043
20-May-67

S2S
(3706)

S31S
(5283)

S43S
(7275)

S19S
(3045)

044
20-Mar-67

S4S
(3702)

S33S
(5291)

S44S
(7281)

S21S
(3041)

 

 

TS

 

 

Diag No.

 

849

 

 

SR Code

 

DAF

 

 

045
15-May-67

S6S
(3084)

S48S
(7298)

S45S
(7293)

S23S
(3315)

046
22-Mar-67

S8S
(3074)

S49S
(7296)

S46S
(7283)

S25S
(3313)

Spare
20-Mar-67

S10S
(3696)

 

 

 

 

Control trailer S36 (from 3 TIS unit no.035) in the yard at Ryde depot. Uncoupled from a 4 VEC unit, the jumper cables have been left loose on top of the Ward coupler’s rubbing plate.

 Brian Hardy

 

3 TIS

 

‘A’

 

‘D’

 

Unit

DTS

TS

DMBS

 

Diag No.

850

849

848

 

SR Code

DAE

DAF

CV

 

031
20-Mar-67

S26S
(5294)

S47S
(7279)

S1S
(3703)

 

032
20-Mar-67

S28S
(5304)

S92S
(7285)

S3S
(3251)

 

033
20-May-67

S30S
(5312)

S93S
(7282)

S5S
(3185)

 

034
26-Apr-67

S32S
(5290)

S94S
(7287)

S7S
(3209)

 

035
26-Apr-67

S34S
(5302)

S95S
(7292)

S9S
(3223)

 

036
22-Mar-67

S36S
(5350)

S96S
(7290)

S11S
(3705)

 

SR Code

 

 

CV-1A

 

037

S38S16
(5294)

S47S
(7279)

S19S
(3045)

Disbanded
by Mar-67

 

Footnotes (Initial Unit Formations)

14

DTS in use as TS.

15

Replacement for original DMBS S15S.

16

Renumbered S26S prior to entering service in unit no.031.

 

As formed, each 3 TIS unit was 156' 5¾" long, weighed 65 tons and seated 106 second. Due to the mixing of 1927 /1928 /1929 & 1931 /1934 DMBS vehicles and use of four DTS vehicles as TS in the 4 VEC units, these six units were formed in three different ways:

two having 1927 /1928 /1929 ‘A’ DMBS + DTS + TS + 1931 /1934 ‘D’ DMBS

two having 1931 /1934 ‘A’ DMBS + DTS + TS + 1927 /1928 /1929 ‘D’ DMBS

two having 1931 /1934 ‘A’ DMBS + TS + TS + 1927 /1928 /1929 ‘D’ DMBS

However, all units had a standard length of 207' 11" and weight of 94 tons.

Unit nos.041 - 044 which included an intermediate DTS (with the redundant cab marshalled at the centre of the unit) seated 132 second, whilst unit nos.045 & 046 seated 136.

Damaged in Transit

Three vehicles (DMBS S22S & TS cars S46S & S49S) were damaged during shipment to the island and were repaired in the former steam shed at Ryde under supervision of LT staff prior to the units entering traffic. It was normal practise in the early days of the stock for seven car trains to be formed as units 031+041 & 034+044 etc. and during daylight hours trains carried a red painted disc on the rear cab as a tail indication.

Temporary Reformations

Due to the need to provide forty-two cars in service on peak summer Saturdays, unit formations have always been subject to many short term alterations to keep the maximum number available for use. Spare coach S10S was used as a direct substitute for a defective DMBS ‘A’-car on 4 VEC units and could replace a ‘D’-car by being added to the Ryde end of a 3 TIS and coupled in the middle of a train against the trailer of the 4 VEC with the missing DMBS‘D’-car. It was also regularly used attached to the Ryde end of 3 TIS units as a 4-car train to replace a complete 4 VEC unit undergoing maintenance. This vehicle retained its LT train number bracket in the offside cab window which was used to display the number of the unit to which it was attached.

 

 

Against the buffer stops at Shanklin, DM ‘D’-car 7 (1931 Metropolitan Carriage, Wagon & Finance Co.) of unit no.485044 is about to work the 13.11 to Ryde Pier Head on 3rd November 1989. Plans to extend to Ventnor never came to fruition.

© Chris Wilson

 

Ventnor Reopening?

There was some pressure on the island to re-open and electrify the closed line between Shanklin and Ventnor and by August 1967 the Southern were investigating the possibility of purchasing a further eight cars to provide an additional 7-car train and a further spare DMBS. A number of vehicles were examined, including some previously rejected but there were fewer ‘Standard stock’ cars left to choose from and no ‘D’ DMBSs at all.

Plans reached the stage of working out unit formation changes, with spare DMBS S10S being attached to unit no.036, this unit then becoming no.047 and two new 3 TIS units nos.036 & 037 being formed as ‘A’ DMBS, 1923 Cammell, Laird & Co. trailer and ‘D’ control trailer. A spare 2-car unit consisting of ‘A’ DMBS & ‘D’ DTS would also have been provided.

The existing fleet was also suffering problems of excessive wheel flange wear, this also affecting the rails, this being caused by a difference in track gauge standards at check rails, BR using a setting ¼" wider than LT. To overcome this problem a number of flange lubricators were installed on the Isle of Wight system, and 1/8" turned off the back of each wheel flange on the wheel lathe, but not before a temporary overall speed restriction of 30 mph had to be imposed, with 10 mph over points and crossings.

LT offered the Southern a further seven cars in October 1967, these being ‘A’ DM cars 3082, 3310 & 3312 and ‘D’ CT cars 5273, 5277 & 5285 along with ‘A’ CT 5270. These cars were eventually moved from Acton to Micheldever 9th July 1968. DMBS S15S was then badly damaged in a shunting mishap at Ryde late in 1967 and a replacement vehicle was sought, the only suitable one available being 3271 which was damaged, though less so than S15S. The cost of this car was estimated at £4,300, this being £1,300 damage repair, £2,700 rehabilitation and £300 scrap value.

The Southern also then considered the withdrawal of the Ryde Pier tramway service early in 1968 and LT estimated the costs as £4,500 for overhauling the three DM cars, £1,800 for overhauling the CT cars and a further £1100 to convert one of the ‘A’ DM cars to ‘D’.

In the event, the Ventnor re-opening was not authorised, as despite a good case for increased passenger loadings, the original estimate for the Ryde - Shanklin section having proved somewhat pessimistic, the electrical installation had been designed for the line to Shanklin only and would have required disproportionately high costs to modify it. Neither was the provision of an extra train to cover the Pier tramway, which was closed on 26th January 1969.

The seven cars at Micheldever remained unused and were eventually disposed of for scrap in August 1970. However, the purchase and overhaul of DM 3271 was authorised in November 1968 with the expectation that the ‘new’ S15S would be available for the summer 1969 service, as without it there were no spare cars at all.

 

 

Against the backdrop of rubber-tyred motor coaches and an Austin Cambridge taxi-cab, a classic 7-car ‘VECTIS’ formation emerges from Ryde tunnel led by unit no.046.

This was obviously a warm day as the driver (wearing short sleeves) has the secondman’s cab door open. Across the lower cab front the labelling above the jumper covers can be read (left to right - Auxiliary, Brake & Control).

© Brian Hardy

 

Seven & Four Car Formations

Additional Motor Coaches

Staff shortages at Acton works delayed the start of work on 3271 and early in 1969 LT offered as an alternative two ‘pilot’ motors, 3273 & 3707 which were about to be withdrawn and required less work than 3271. 3273 was selected as the better car but work did not start on it at Acton AS a three month strike there delayed matters further; it did not enter the works until October 1970, being completed in March 1971.

3273 was the only car to be repainted into BR livery at Acton and was then transported directly from there to Ryde by road, though without traction motors fitted to overcome the weight restrictions on the ferry. A number of components from the original DMBS S15S were utilised in the overhaul of 3273, and it too was numbered S15S. The remains of the original car were scrapped at Ryde in May 1969.

 

Blue-livery with grey passenger doors, spare ‘A’-end motor coach S10 (1934 Metropolitan Carriage, Wagon & Finance Co.) augmenting 3 TIS unit no.034 (to four cars) at Ryde Esplanade on a pier head shuttle in July 1976.

This was the only vehicle to retain its LT stencil number-holder (in the secondman’s observation light). The yellow end of 3 TIS control trailer coach number S32 can just be seen. This later became an intermediate trailer in unit no.485043.

© Tony Watson

 

Ryde Pier Shuttle

Following the closure of the Pier Tramway on 26th January 1969, a shuttle service using one train was instituted between Ryde Pier Head and St Johns Road, running empty between Esplanade and St Johns Road to reverse. Subsequent track and signalling alterations during 1974 allowed this shuttle to run over the former Down line between the Pier Head and Esplanade only, the stock being ‘shut-in’ on the single line whilst all through trains between Ryde and Shanklin used the former Up line on the pier itself.

The use of a train for the shuttle reduced the number available on the Shanklin line and the service was reduced on peak Saturdays from 12 to 15 minutes using four trains.

 

Shortly before reformation to 5-car trains and just after its TOPS number was applied on 3rd May 1983 , 4 VEC unit no. 485042 approaches Alresford Road footbridge (near Littles Stairs Point) on Monday 17th October 1983.

At this stage ‘A’-end motor-coach S22 (1929 Union Construction Co.) retains its original cab door.

Note the shingle ballast which led to poor riding.

© John Atkinson

 

TOPS

During 1969, BR allocated the Isle of Wight stock TOPS class numbers; the 3 TIS units becoming Class 451, the 4 VEC units Class 452, though these were revised in 1973 to 486 (3 TIS) and 485 (4 VEC).

Repainting in 1972

All cars were given an external repaint in the original scheme during the winter of 1971 /1972 whilst the interiors were similarly dealt with the following winter.

 

The sorry remains of DMBS ‘D’-car S25S which was gutted by fire at Ryde St Johns Road on 8th September 1975. Officially condemned on 17th October 1980 it was scrapped here by BR staff in February 1982. The unit number (046) can just be seen on the open cab door beyond the former switch compartment

© Brian Hardy

 

Damages, Withdrawals & Reformations

In September 1973, units nos.035 & 045 collided during shunting operations at St Johns Road and three cars were withdrawn, the remaining four being reformed as unit no.045. 3 TIS unit no.036 was then renumbered as 035. The reformed unit no.045 now seated 132 (as nos.041 - 044) and having two 1931 /1934 DMBS vehicles was longer than standard at 209' 6½" and weighed 96 tons.

On 8th September 1975, DMBS ‘D’-car S25S was gutted by fire at Ryde St Johns Road and the remaining three cars of unit no.046 were then used coupled to other stock as required, this unit eventually being renumbered into the 3-car series as no.036 during October 1980, though it still lacked a cab at the south end. This unit also Shad an emergency toolbox fitted in the vestibule of the DMBS ‘A’-car S8 in reverse of normal practise.

 

Sunday 15th May 1983 and 3 TIS unit no.032 led by 4 VEC unit no.045 has just arrived at Ryde Pier Head (platform three) with a service from Shanklin whilst 4 VEC unit no.043 is preparing to lead 3 TIS unit no.036 on the pier shuttle (from platform two) to Ryde Esplanade). At this time unit no.036 was the only 3 TIS to run at the north end of a formation.

© Chris Wilson

 

Livery Change - Grey Passenger Doors

The appearance of vehicles was improved from 1976 when repainted cars had their passenger doors painted grey, 3 TIS unit no.034 and spare car S10 being the first so treated in May 1976, at the same time the ‘S’ suffix was dropped from the vehicle numbers and where seating was replaced, the moquette was now the ‘Bournemouth Blue’ pattern seen on much main line stock throughout the SR. Some of the seats were dealt with at Swindon, though latterly all were done at Ryde works. At the same time the leather armrests were being progressively removed.

 

Replacement 3 TIS unit no.036 (led by DM ‘A’-end car S8) and 4 VEC unit no.043 form a Pier shuttle service at Ryde Esplanade on 15th May 1983. The original ‘1967’ unit no.036 had been renumbered no.035 when the original ‘1967’ 3 TIS unit no.035 had been reformed as 4 VEC unit no.045 (following the loss of three of its cars in a collision with unit no.035).

This reformed 3 TIS unit no.036 (17th October 1980) was unique in not having a south-end cab; it was formed from the three surviving cars of 4 VEC unit no.046 whose DM ‘D’-car S25 had been gutted by fire at Ryde St Johns on 8th September 1975.

© Chris Wilson

 

Blue /Grey Livery

Late in 1981, interior repaints had the mushroom areas changed to a brighter lime green and early in 1982 the exteriors began to receive full blue & grey livery, although the sliding doors remained all grey. The appearance of the cab end was also changed with a black area taking in both the observation lights, making them appear from a distance the same size. The full six digit unit number was displayed below the offside window in the space where the former route board has been and on the bodysides the BR double arrow logo was followed by the words Isle of Wight.

Other changes involved replacing the wooden slatted flooring with linoleum, some early vehicles dealt with having dark grey whilst later ones had an orange colour and seating moquette was also changed to the latest orange/brown style as fitted to LT's D78 stock. A grant of £15,000 was received from the Isle of Wight County Council to assist with the internal refurbishing of the stock. During the latter part of 1982, units nos.033 & 043 exchanged DMBS cars and unit no.033 was withdrawn, both the DMBS and DTS being used for storage, whilst the trailer remained available for traffic as a spare coach, thereby reducing the active fleet to thirty-seven vehicles.

All 4 VEC & 3 TIS units were subject to frequent short term alterations to formations, particularly when spare coach DMBS S10 was used in trains, and also when a number of units were stored out of use during the winter months, and cars were then exchanged for overhaul or to keep motor coaches ‘run-in’. The changes noted below are those officially recorded and of a longer term nature.

 

3 TIS

 

 

‘A’

 

‘D’

 

UNIT

DTS

TS

DMBS

Disbanded date

Diag No.

850

849

848

 

SR Code

DAE

DAF

CV

 

031

S26S

S47S

S1S
S13

Mar-85

032

S28S
S22S17
S28S

S92S
S42S
S92S

S3S
S29S
18
S3S

c.Jun-85

033

S30S

S93S

S5S
S1919

Withdrawn 10-Nov-82

034

S32S

S94S

S7S

c.Jun-85

035

S34S
S36S

S95S
S96S

S9S
S11S
S9

Mar-85

036

S36S

S96S

S11S

Renumbered
035 9-May-74

 

DMBS

TS

TS

 

Diag No.

848

849

849

 

SR Code

CV

DAF

DAF

 

036

S8S

S49S

S46S

c.Jun-85

 

Footnotes (3 TIS)

17

DMBS, diagram 848, code CV-1A.

18

DTS, diagram 850, code DAE.

19

DMBS code CV-1A.

 

Unit No.

Individual Unit Notes

031

DMBS S1 exchanged with S13 (ex.041) 11‑Aug‑83.

Unit disbanded Mar‑85, DMBS S13 withdrawn and stored grounded at Ryde St Johns, TS S47 overhauled and retained as spare coach, DTS S26 overhauled as TS and to new unit no.485041.

TS S47 formed into unit no.485042 from early 1987. DMBS S13 subsequently scrapped by Ryde Demolition Co. Jun‑87.

032

Unit temporarily exchanged identities with surviving three cars of 4 VEC no.042 following the loss of DMBS ‘D’-car S15S of that unit Dec‑67. Now formed as S22S + S42S + S29S with DMBS at Ryde end of train unlike all other 3 TIS units.

Disused cab of S29S had end painted yellow. As unit had 1929 DMBS overall length reduced to 154' 10¼" and weight to 63 tons.

Unit reverted to original formation c.Mar‑71.

Unit disbanded c.Jun‑85, DMBS S3 to new unit 485042, TS S92 overhauled and to new unit 485041, DTS S28 used as TS and to new unit 485042.

033

Unit withdrawn 10‑Nov‑82, DMBS S5 exchanged with S19 (ex.043) Dec‑82, TS S93 remained in traffic as a spare vehicle.

DMBS S19 stored at Ryde until moving to Sandown in March 1984 for use as PW store, painted into departmental olive green (windows covered with steel sheets) and allocated IU No. 083569 from 26‑Jan‑85. This coach later grounded at Sandown 10‑Jul‑86 and broken-up on site 3‑Apr‑89 by Jolliffe.

DTS S30 grounded at Ryde as store 19‑May‑84 and allocated IU No. 083570 though this was not carried on vehicle. Later broken-up on site during 1990 by Oxley Thomas Associates. TS S93 subsequently overhauled and to new unit 485045 during 1985.

034

Unit disbanded c.Jun‑85, DMBS S7 to new unit 485044, TS S94 overhauled and to new unit 485044, DTS S32 overhauled as TS and to new unit 485045.

035

Unit (with no.045) damaged in buffer stop collision at Ryde St Johns Road 10‑Sep‑73. All cars repaired and used with DMBS S6S (ex.045) coupled to DTS as a ‘new’ unit numbered 045, officially from 9‑May‑74.

A ‘new’ unit no.035 was formed from the same date, this being all three vehicles of no.036 renumbered as no.035.

Unit ran as 2-car during Aug‑76 whilst TS S96 in works.

DMBS S11 exchanged with DMBS S9 (ex.045) 11‑Aug‑83.

Unit disbanded Mar‑85, DMBS S9 overhauled and to new unit no.485045, both TS S96 & DTS S36 withdrawn and stored grounded at Ryde St Johns, both being subsequently scrapped on site Jun-87 by Ryde Demolition Co.

036

Unit renumbered 035 from 9‑May‑74.

A ‘new’ unit no.036 formed from 17‑Oct‑80 using remaining three cars of unit no.046 though this unit had the DMBS at the opposite end to all other 3 TIS units and no driving cab at the south end. It now seated 110 second and had standard length and weight dimensions as the remaining units. The unit number was shown in black letters within a yellow area at the top of the communicating door on TS S46.

Unit disbanded c.Jun‑85 and both DMBS S8 & TS S49 overhauled and to new unit 485044, TS S46 retained as spare coach, withdrawn Feb‑86 and sent to Sandown 10‑Sep‑88 where it was scrapped 16‑May‑89 by Oxley Thomas Associates.

               

 

4 VEC

 

‘A’

 

 

‘D’

 

UNIT

DMBS

DTS20

TS

DMBS

Disbanded date

Diag No.

848

850

849

848

 

SR Code

CV-1A

DAE

DAF

CV

 

041

S20S

S27S

S41S

S13S
S1

c.Jun-85

042

S22S
S10S21
S22S

S29S
S28S
S29S

S42S
S92S
S42S

S15S
S3S
S15S22

c.Jun-85

SR Code

CV

 

 

CV-1A

 

043

S2S

S31S

S43S

S19
S523

c.Jun-85

044

S4S

S33S

S44S

S21S

Mar-85

 

 

TS

 

 

 

Diag No.

 

849

 

 

 

SR Code

 

DAF

 

 

 

045

S6S

S48S
S34S24

S45S
S95S

S23S
S9S25
S11

c.Jun-85

046

S8S

S49S

S46S

S25S
S15S26
S25S

17-Oct-80

Spare

S10S

 

 

 

 

 

Footnotes (4 VEC)

20

DTS in use as TS.

21

DMBS code CV.

22

Replacement for original DMBS S15S.

23

DMBS code CV.

24

DTS in use as TS
(diagram 850, code DAE).

25

DMBS code CV.

26

DMBS code CV.

 

 

Unit No.

Individual Unit Notes

041

DMBS S13 exchanged with S1 (ex.031) 11‑Aug‑83.

Unit disbanded c.Jun‑85, DMBS S20 to new unit no.486031, DMBS S1 overhauled and to new unit 485041, TS S41 retained as spare coach, DTS S27 overhauled as TS and to new unit 485041.

TS S41 subsequently withdrawn during Sep‑86 and sent to Sandown 10‑Sep‑88 where it was scrapped 8‑May‑89 by Oxley Thomas Associates.

042

DMBS S22S damaged at Fratton prior to shipment by collision with main line vehicle and sent to Island in damaged condition and repaired at Ryde prior to entering traffic.

DMBS S15S badly damaged at Ryde St Johns 7-Oct‑67 when pushed off jacks after being rammed by another DMBS and falling onto track and one bogie. A replacement DMBS with the same number obtained from London Transport, after stripping the original vehicle being scrapped at Ryde during May-69 after being officially withdrawn 10‑May‑69.

However, the replacement vehicle did not arrive on the island until Mar-71 and entered traffic in 17-Jul-71 after fitting of motors and other equipment.

The remaining three cars of unit no.042 exchanged identities with 3 TIS unit no.032 and these vehicles were then formed with spare ‘A’ DMBS S10S as ‘042’. In this form unit had two 1931 /1934 DMBS cars and was therefore longer than standard at 209' 6½" and weighed 96 tons.

Unit reverted to original formation following commissioning of the ‘new’ S15S in Apr-71. DMBS S15S ran temporarily as part of unit no.046 later in 1971 and early 1972.

Unit disbanded c.Jun‑85 and both DMBS cars S15 & S22 to new unit no.486032, TS S42 to new unit no.485042, DTS S29 overhauled as TS and also to new unit no.485042.

043

TS S31S fitted with de-icing equipment in the redundant driving cab at the centre of the unit, this coach also having shoebeams fitted each side of the bogie below this cab.

Cars S2 + S31 + S43 derailed at Brading 23‑Feb‑81 but repaired.

DMBS S19 withdrawn Dec‑82 and exchanged with S5 (ex.033) and blue /grey, unit now had two 1931 /1934 DMBS cars and was now 209' 6½" long and weighed 96 tons.

Unit disbanded c.Jun‑85 and DMBS S2 overhauled and to new unit no.485041, other three vehicles, DMBS S5, TS S43 & DTS S31 all overhauled (S31 as TS though still retaining de-icing equipment) and to new unit no.485043.

044

Unit disbanded Mar‑85 and DMBS S4 to new unit no.485042. DMBS S21 withdrawn and stored grounded at Ryde St Johns, both trailers TS S44 & DTS S33 overhauled (S33 as TS) and to new unit no.485044. DMBS S21 subsequently scrapped on site Jun‑87 by Ryde Demolition Co

045

Unit (with no.035) damaged in buffer stop collision at Ryde St Johns Road 10‑Sep‑73 and DMBS S23S & TS  cars S45S & S48S all officially condemned from 4‑May‑74 and scrapped at Ryde St Johns c.17‑Nov‑75 by Smeeth Metals.

DMBS S6S repaired and coupled with three cars of no.035 to form a ‘new’ unit no.045. This unit therefore had a DTS used as TS with cab marshalled against DMBS S6 and seated 132 second and as both DMBS cars were 1931 /1934 stock it was longer than standard at 209' 6½" and weighed 96 tons.

DMBS S9 exchanged with SS11 (ex.035) 11‑Aug‑83.

Unit disbanded c.Jun‑85 and DMBS S6 overhauled and to new unit no.485043, DMBS S11 to new unit no.486031, TS S95 retained as spare coach and DTS S34 overhauled as TS and to new unit no.485045. TS S95 subsequently formed into no.485042 from early 1987.

046

Both TS cars S46S & S49S damaged during shipment when S46S (one of the roller bearing fitted cars sent to the island) ran-away during unloading at Ryde St Johns and collided with S49S. Both vehicles repaired at Ryde prior to unit entering traffic.

During late 1971 /early 1972 DMBS S25S replaced by S15S (ex.042) and (as both DMBS were 1931 /1934 stock) unit was longer than standard at 209' 6½" and weighed 96 tons.

DMBS S25S gutted by fire at Ryde St Johns Road 8‑Sep‑75 and withdrawn, officially condemned 17‑Oct‑80 and scrapped at Ryde St Johns by BR staff Feb‑82. Remaining three cars used as spares and renumbered as unit no.036 from 17‑Oct‑80.

Spare

DMBS S10S used as part of 4 VEC no.042 from Dec‑67 until Apr‑71.

Used in 4 VEC no.045 during late 1974.

Coach overhauled and formed as part of new unit no.485045 from c.Jun‑85.

 

 

Containing de-icing car S31, 4 VEC unit no.485043 enters Brading’s Up platform under semaphore signal control on Saturday 4th July 1987. Singled the following year (30th October 1988), the Brading station loop is now due for reinstatement.

© John Atkinson

 

De-icing Coach S31S

Early in 1972, the redundant driving cab in S31S of unit no.043 was fitted with de-icing equipment, the bogie below also having shoegear fitted each side to help spread the fluid and to indicate which side the conductor rail was located. Two return trips during the course of a day was usually sufficient to keep the conductor rails clear of ice, but units did have difficulties in really severe weather.

In 1989 car 31 entered three-car de-icing unit no.486031.

 

 

Painted olive green, the plated cab end of former motorcoach S19 (here numbered 083569) at Sandown between January 1985 and July 1986 when it was grounded.

© Brian Hardy

 

S19 was a 1928 Union Construction Co. car, the centre pillar can still be seen between the passenger doors midway along the vehicle.

© Chris Wilson collection

 

Permanent Way Stores Coach S19

When 3 TIS unit no.033 was disbanded in December 1982 DM S5 displaced DM S19 in 4 VEC unit no.043. Subsequently S19 was moved to Sandown in March 1983 for use as a Permanent Way store, being painted a dark olive green livery with all windows boarded. It was placed in the former Ventnor West platform at where it was seen on 10th October 1984.

A year after receiving its IU number (083569 from 26th January 1985) it was grounded at Sandown 10th July 1986 thence broken up on-site 3rd April 1989 by Jolliffe.

 

 

Ryde Esplanade station and five car units no.485043 alongside no. 485041 (on the Ryde Pier shuttle) during 4th July 1987. Note the island logo on the cab ends.

© John Atkinson

 

Five & Two Car Reformations

From April 1985, units started to have their lighting modified, now along the centre line of each coach with 31 and 49 first completed.

From mid-1985, the entire fleet was reorganised and a further four vehicles (now spare) withdrawn, the fleet now being rearranged as five 5-car trains formed with a DMBS at each end of three trailers, and two 2-car trains formed of pairs of DMBS vehicles. This complete reorganisation of the fleet involved wholesale reformations of the original 4 VEC and 3 TIS units and ran alongside a programme of modifications to those vehicles retained, to improve them and extended their lives for a few more years until they could be replaced by further more modern stock; this being displaced ex. London Transport ‘1938’ tube stock. Tests using 2-car trains formed of two DMBS cars were carried out in March 1985, cars S2 & S9 being used as such on 4th March 1985.

 

Awaiting scrapping in June 1987 at Ryde St Johns Road DM ‘D’-car S13, DM ‘D’-car S21, Control Trailer S36S and Trailer S96S.

© Brian Hardy

 

Scrapping

Cars S13, S21, S36S & S96S were all withdrawn and stored off their bogies by the lineside south of Ryde St Johns pending disposal, all being scrapped on site in June 1987 by contractors Ryde Demolition Co.

 

With plated-over cab-end door, DMS car S1 (5 VEC unit no. 485041) is on a pier shuttle in platform two at Ryde Pier Head on Saturday 4th July 1987. Note the canopy on platform one has now been removed with Portsmouth visible across the Solent.

© John Atkinson

 

Unit Changes

Changes to affect DMBS vehicles was the complete panelling over of the nose end cab door the improve the weatherproofing and reduce draughts in the driving cab. Some of the controls were also modified and repositioned for easier access. This changed the appearance of the cab ends considerably and allowed the display of a black Isle of Wight shaped logo on the front between the cab windows with the words ‘Ryde’ & ‘Rail’ displayed, one above the other below the island symbol. Cars had also had the logo in a larger size in white along the bodysides beyond the sliding doors with the symbol appearing between the Ryde & Rail wording.

The first outshopped was DMBS S5 which was ready in June 1985, and a further five were done by March 1987, all of those from S1 - S11 eventually being completed. Other modifications to both DMBS and trailer cars involved replacing the original lighting circuits which resulted in the lighting, (the original lamps and shades were retained), being relocated each side of a central trunking along the centre of the ceiling. A few vehicles also had some of the opening hopper vent windows replaced by plain non-opening windows where these were renewed as the result of corrosion.

There was now no requirement for any DTS vehicles in the fleet, those that were retained now being used as trailers intermediately within units, so their remaining cab equipment was all removed, though these cabs had never been used as such on the island and had been decommissioned for many years.

The new units were all outshopped with their full six-figure unit numbers, the 5-car units becoming nos.485041 - 485045 and the 2-car units nos.486031 ‑ 486032. Only two of the 1927 /1928 /1929 DMBS cars survived, one being formed in each 2-car unit.

Units nos.485041 - 485043 both had two former DTS ccars in their formations, now marshalled with the disused cab against the adjacent DMBS, whilst units nos.485044 & 485045 both only included one of these vehicles, no.485044 having a ‘D’ end one against the Shanklin end motor coach whilst no.485045 had an ‘A’ end one against the Ryde end motor coach. Surviving vehicles were allocated in basically number order upwards in the new units, i.e. no.485041 having DMBS cars S1 & S2 and former DTS cars S26 & S27 in the formation, though the surviving 1923 trailers were not quite so orderly.

In these new formations, the 2-car units were 104' 6½" long, weighed 60 tons and seated 52, units nos.485041 ‑ 485043 were 259' 8¾" long, weighed 113 tons and seated 170 whilst nos.485044 & 485045 were 257' 7¼" long, weighed 113 tons and seated 174. All these units when finally formed as intended were in blue /grey livery.

Progress on these modifications was fairly slow due to the limited capacity of the works facilities at Ryde and many temporary unit formations were employed for some time whilst vehicles were overhauled and rearranged into their new unit formations, including many trains with vehicles in different liveries. All the cars intended for withdrawal were retained in traffic for a while to act as cover for those being overhauled, some of these being eventually withdrawn still in all-blue livery. Sixteen trailers eventually gained the lighting mods, these being S26, 27, 28, 29, 31, 32, 33, 34, 43, 44, 47, 49, 92, 93, 94 & 95, whilst all cars retained beyond 1988 had their wooden floors replaced by lino with the exception of S3, 27, 31 & 34.

 

Operating the Ryde Pier shuttle, 5 VEC unit no.485044 arrives at Ryde Esplanade station in July 1988. The leading coach 7 is in NSE livery (with revised cab end – plated door & black surrounds to the forward observation lights); trailer cars are in blue-grey livery with the rear motor coach in NSE livery.

 John Atkinson

 

Five-Car Unit Formations

The formation of the units, officially from 1st August 1985 is shown below, with the number of the vehicle’s previous unit being shown below in brackets.

 

 

‘A’

 

 

 

‘D’

 

Unit

DMBS

DTS27

TS

DTS28

DMBS

Date withdrawn

Diag No.

848

850

849

850

848

 

SR Code

CV

DAE

DAF

DAE

CV

 

485041

S2
(043)

S26
(031)

S92
(032)
-

S27
(041)
34

S1
(041)

6-Jun-90

485042

S4
(044)

S28
(032)
S4729
-
26

S42
(042)
S95
S3130

S29
(042)

S3
(032)
11

25-Sep-89

485043

S6
(045)
10
2

S32
(034)
95
-
26

S43
(043)
-
32
-

S31
(043)
27
31

S5
(043)

7-Sep-90

 

 

TS

 

 

 

 

Diag No.

 

849

 

 

 

 

SR Code

 

DAF

 

 

 

 

485044

S8
(036)

S49
(036)

S44
(044)
2831

S33
(044)
-

S7
(034)

Sep-90

 

 

DTS32

 

TS

 

 

Diag No.

 

850

 

849

 

 

SR Code

 

DAE

 

DAF

 

 

485045

S10
(spare)

S34
(041)
-

S94
(036)
3133

S93
(031)

S9
(045)
11

18-Jan-90

 

TS

TS

TS

TS

 

 

Diag No.

849

849

849

849

 

 

SR Code

DAF

DAF

DAF

DAF

 

 

Spare

S41
(041)

S46
(044)

S47
(031)

S95
(045)

 

 

 

Footnotes (Five-Car Unit Formations)

27

DTS in use as TS.

28

DTS in use as TS.

29

TS, diagram 849, code DAF.

30

DTS in use as TS.